— Published 24 November 2021

Women’s hour

After the men on Monday 22 November, World Athletics unveiled the list of finalists for the 2021 Female Athlete of the Year award on Tuesday. The list includes five names from five countries and four continents. Unsurprisingly, the five female finalists are all at least Olympic champions in Tokyo. Two of them have added a world record to their calling card. The Women’s Athlete of the Year trophy will be awarded on 1 December at a virtual evening event between the Netherlands’ Sifan Hassan (Olympic champion in the 5,000 and 10,000 m), Kenya’s Faith Kipyegon (Olympic champion in the 1,500 m) and the USA’s Sydney McLaughlin (Olympic champion in the 1,000 m), the American Sydney McLaughlin (Olympic champion and world record holder in the 400 m hurdles, Olympic champion in the 4×400 m), the Venezuelan Yulimar Rojas (Olympic champion and world record holder in the triple jump), the Jamaican Elaine Thompson-Herah (Olympic champion in the 100, 200 and 4×100 m). Two names are emerging to succeed Yulimar Rojas, who will be awarded in 2020: the American Sydney McLaughlin and the Jamaican Elaine Thompson-Herah.