— Published 1 December 2022

Ukraine doubles the score

Third trophy of the year, announced by World Athletics as part of its awards for the 2022 financial year. And second victory for Ukrainian athletics. After Gennadii Zuiev, winner of the Coach of the Year award, the body chose to award the President’s prize to the Ukrainian Athletics Federation. It was presented on Wednesday 30 November in Rome by Sebastian Coe, the president of World Athletics, to the president of the Ukrainian national organisation, Yevhen Pronin. The British leader commented: “I could not think of a more worthy person for this year’s award. What the President of the Ukrainian Athletics Federation, the coaches and the athletes have done is simply worthy of everyone’s respect and recognition.” First awarded in 2016, the World Athletics President’s Award recognises “outstanding service to athletics”. Past winners include British journalist Vikki Orvice, Swiss organiser Andreas Brugger, former Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt and former Kenyan marathon runner Tegla Loroupe