— Published 5 October 2023

The Euro knows its host countries

The landscape has just become a lot clearer in the race for future editions of the Men’s Euro football tournament. With less than a week to go before the decision, announced for Tuesday 10 October, there is no longer the slightest suspense as to which countries will host the tournament in 2028 and 2032. For the first of the two competitions, the joint bid by the United Kingdom and Ireland is certain to win, since it is the only one in the running. On Wednesday October 4, UEFA announced the withdrawal of Turkey, the only rival to the British bid. The Turks have opted out of the race to concentrate on the next edition, in 2032, where they too are guaranteed to be designated. Their joint bid with Italy, unveiled last July, has no rivals. With this game of musical chairs, UEFA will no longer have to decide between rival bids. Euro 2028 will be awarded to Great Britain and Ireland, 62 years after England last hosted the European Nations Championship in 1966. In 2032, the continental tournament will be held in Italy, host of the 1968 and 1980 editions, and in Turkey, a regular candidate but never yet designated. Before then, the next edition of the men’s Euro will be held in Germany, from 14 June to 14 July 2024.