— Published 17 November 2020

Six nominated for a first

They are six. Six national federations nominated for the first annual trophy awarded by World Athletics to a national athletics body which had the idea in 2020 of an event or an “inspiring” initiative despite the sanitary conditions. The international organization has unveiled the list. The trophy will be played between the federations of Kenya, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palestine, Peru and Poland. Each of the six continental confederations (Africa, Asia, Europe, Oceania, South America, North America, Central America and the Caribbean) was to propose two national federations. The World Athletics board then proceeded to a vote to nominate the six nominees. The winner will be announced during the World Athletics Awards 2020, which will be held in virtually on Saturday, December 5.