— Published 16 December 2022

Russia almost absent

The International Skating Union (ISU) has unveiled the long list of nominees for its annual ISU Skating Awards, winners of whom will be announced from Zurich on 5 February 2023. No less than 69 figure skaters, coaches and choreographers have been selected for the six categories. Winners will be chosen by the public and the media via an online vote, open until 31 December 2022. Normally, the ISU Awards are for one sporting season, but the health crisis has led the body to change its rules. For this edition, they take into account the results of the 2022 calendar year, including the European, Four Continents and World Championships, the 2022 Beijing Winter Olympics and the Figure Skating Grand Prix series. The most coveted trophy, awarded to the best skater of the year, will be decided between eight nominees, four of whom represent Japan: Nathan Chen (USA), Yuma Kagiyama (Japan), Riku Miura / Ryuichi Kihara (Japan), Gabriella Papadakis /Guillaume Cizeron (France), Kaori Sakamoto (Japan), Anna Shcherbakova (Russia), Wenjing Sui / Cong Han (China), Shoma Uno (Japan). Only one Russian, the individual Olympic champion Anna Shcherbakova, is among the nominees for all six categories.