— Published 6 February 2023

Nathan Chen takes the prize

The suspense is over. The International Skating Union (ISU) unveiled the winners of its annual figure skating awards on Sunday 5 February in Zurich during its gala evening. Not surprisingly, the most coveted award, that of best skater of the year, went to the American Nathan Chen, Olympic champion last February in Beijing in the men’s individual event. Frenchmen Gabriella Papadakis and Guillaume Cizeron, who won last year’s Olympic title in Beijing in the ice dance event, were awarded the trophy for best programme. The title of revelation of the year went to the young American Isabeau Levito. The American couple Madison Chock/Evan Bates were awarded the trophy for best costume. Another American victory went to Ilia Malinin, who was awarded a special trophy for being the first and only skater to have completed a quadruple axel in competition. Canadians Patrice Lauzon and Shae-Lynn Bourne were also honoured as best coach and best choreographer respectively. Finally, a trophy was awarded to former German skater Katarina Witt, who was honoured by the ISU for her life’s work.