— Published 7 December 2020

Morariu in the armchair

There was no match. The outgoing Romanian Octavian Morariu has been re-elected for a third consecutive term as Rugby Europe presidency. He won it with 80.95% of the vote (51 votes), with a very large lead over his only rival, the Russian Kirill Yashenkov, credited with 19.05% (12 votes). The election took place on the occasion of Rugby Europe’s annual general meeting, convened by videoconference. IOC member Octavian Morariu is therefore extending his lease for the period 2020-2024. The members of the continental body’s steering committee were also appointed during this meeting. Ten representatives of the member countries were elected among the 24 candidates. Here is the list:

        • Christian Dullin – France – Vice-president
        • George Nijaradze – Georgia – Vice-President
        • Rob Udwin – England – Vice President
        • Veronika Muehlhofer – Switzerland
        • Jens Aage Skare Nielsen – Denmark
        • Veceslav Holjevac – Croatia
        • John O’Driscoll – Ireland
        • Salvatore Zandona – Belgium
        • Kirill Yashenko – Russia
        • Carlos Amado Da Silva – Portugal

Finally, Gilbert Celli was reappointed as secretary general of the association.