— Published 27 June 2022

Eight Europeans out of twelve

Twelve for six places. The International Federation of Athletics (World Athletics) has received 12 applications for the six seats available on its Athletes’ Commission. The elections will take place on the sidelines of the World Outdoor Athletics Championships in Eugene, USA, from 15 to 20 July 2022. To be eligible, athletes must have competed in at least one of the last two World Championships, or the most recent Olympic Games, or be competing at this year’s World Championships in Oregon. The 12 nominees, in alphabetical order: Andrea Paola Bonilla (Ecuador), Lisanne de Witte (Netherlands), Lauma Griva (Latvia), Ramil Guliyev (Turkey), Matthew Hughes (Canada), Ivet Lalova-Collio (Bulgaria), Halimah Nakaayi (Uganda), Airine Palsyte (Lithuania), Anna Ryzhykova (Ukraine), Lea Sprunger (Switzerland), Alessia Trost (Italy), Toshikazu Yamanishi (Japan). The six athletes elected next month will replace the six departing commissioners: Inaki Gomez (Canada), Kim Collins (St Kitts and Nevis), Adam Kszczot (Poland), Thomas Rohler (Germany), Ivana Vuleta (née Spanovic – Serbia), Benita Willis (Southern). Since 2019, the President and one other member of the Athletes’ Commission – one man and one woman – are full members of the World Athletics Council. The two positions are currently held by Renaud Lavillenie of France, who is the chairman of the commission, and Valerie Adams of New Zealand, who is the vice-chairman.