— Published 3 May 2022

Diane Henderson makes history

Women continue to gain ground in the Olympic movement. After France, Mexico and Israel last year, a new National Olympic Committee is now chaired by a woman. ANOC announced that Diane Henderson became the first woman president of the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC) on Saturday. She beat another candidate, Rowena Williams, by 24 votes to 10. Diane Henderson succeeds Brian Lewis, the outgoing president. She is already vice-president of the TTOC and also sits on the multi-sport commission of the International Triathlon Federation (World Triathlon). With this election, Diane Henderson becomes the first woman to chair the TTOC since its creation in 1947. The body had previously had an uninterrupted succession of ten male presidents.