— Published 15 November 2023

Competitions bring in the numbers

After the women, now it’s the men’s turn. The International Federation of Athletics (World Athletics) has unveiled the names of the five finalists selected to compete for the title of Male Athlete of the Year 2023. Unlike the women’s cast, which is largely dominated by races, the men’s selection is dominated by field events. The five athletes come from four countries and four continents. Surprisingly, only two of them represent racing. Awarded on December 11, the World Athletics trophy will be contested by Indian javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra, world champion and Asian Games gold medallist; American shot putter Ryan Crouser, world champion and record-holder; Swedish pole vaulter Mondo Duplantis, world champion and record-holder; Kenyan marathoner Kelvin Kiptum, world record-holder, winner in London and Chicago; American sprinter Noah Lyles, world champion in the 100 and 200 m. The selection of the five finalists was the result of a three-stage process: the World Athletics Board and the athletics “family” (officials, agents, coaches, journalists, etc.) voted by e-mail, while fans posted their choices on social networks, where a record 2 million votes were cast.