— Published 11 June 2021

Capralos elected President

Spyros Capralos

The Association of European Olympic Committees (EOC) has chosen a new president on Thursday, June 10th. He is Greek. Spyros Capralos (photo above) was elected as the 9th president of the continental body. He clearly outstripped (34 votes against 16) his only rival for the supreme office, Dane Niels Nygaard, who had been acting president since the death of Slovenian Janez Kocijancic in June 2020. Spyros Capralos, President of the Greek Olympic Committee since 2009, was elected for a four-year term until 2025. The election took place during the 50th General Assembly of the EOC in Athens. A former water polo player, selected for the Olympic Games in Moscow in 1980 and Los Angeles in 1984, the Greek leader joined the IOC in 2019. He chaired the Coordination Commission for the first two editions of the European Games (Baku 2015 and Minsk 2019). During the same General Assembly, the representatives of the 50 European National Olympic Committees elected the EOC Executive Committee. Lithuanian Daina Gudzineviciute was appointed Vice-President, Italian Raffaele Pagnozzi Secretary General and Austrian Peter Mennel Treasurer. The other members of the executive committee are Zlatko Matesa (Croatia), Jean-Michel Brun (France), Uschi Schmitz (Germany), Annamarie Phelps (Great Britain), Líney Rut Halldorsdóttir (Iceland), Berit Kjoll (Norway), José Manuel Araújo (Portugal), Cristina Vasilianov (Macedonia), Mihai Covaliu (Romania), Djordje Visacki (Serbia), Victoria Cabezas (Spain), Hasan Arat (Turkey).