— Published 6 April 2023

Aleksander Ceferin re-elected by acclamation

He was the only candidate. Without the slightest surprise, and with no votes to challenge him, Aleksander Ceferin was re-elected on Wednesday 5 April for a third consecutive four-year term as UEFA president. The 55-year-old former Slovenian lawyer was re-elected by acclamation. He will lead European football until at least 2027. After his victory, the former lawyer addressed the UEFA delegates with a very offensive speech against those behind the aborted Super League project. “Fortunately, shame has never killed anyone,” he said. “In the space of a few months, the Super League has turned into the fable of Little Red Riding Hood. It’s the wolf who disguises himself as a grandmother to better devour you. But no one is fooled, because it is two visions of the world that clash, cynicism versus morality, selfishness versus solidarity, greed versus sharing, the race for profit versus the race for trophies. There is no place for cartels on the continent. The national leagues must remain the basis of football, they are the foundation of our model.” The 47th UEFA Congress also voted on Wednesday 5 April for the members of the Executive Committee. Seven positions were up for election for a four-year term. They will be filled by Albanian Armand Duka (45 votes), Dane Jesper Møller Christensen (42), Czech Petr Fousek (40), Georgian Levan Kobiashvili (40), Spaniard Luis Rubiales (40), Frenchman Philippe Diallo (37), and Ukrainian Andrii Pavelko (31). The president of the Norwegian Football Association, Lise Klaveness, who was highly visible before and after the 2022 World Cup in Qatar for her stance against Qatar and Gianni Infantino, was not elected (18 votes). Finally, Laura McAllister from Wales was elected by acclamation for the position of female member of the Executive Committee.