— Published 16 November 2020

A sanitary bubble in Melbourne

The next season of professional tennis promises to be dominated by the health crisis. The Australian tennis federation (Tennis Australia) has already announced that all tournaments scheduled for January 2021 will take place at one location, in Melbourne. The Sydney, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide and Hobart events will all be relocated in a sanitary bubble set up for the occasion in the capital city of Victoria, where the annual Australian Open is held. The schedule for the Australian tour is still under discussion, between Tennis Australia, ATP and WTA. But it is a given that foreign players, who could arrive in Australia as early as mid-December, will be subject to a 14-day quarantine period. However, the question of the presence of the public is not yet settled. The state of Victoria currently allows a number of spectators in sports arenas equal to only a quarter of the capacity of the stands.