— Published 13 October 2023

A cast of rare density

After the women, now it’s the men’s turn. The International Federation of Athletics (World Athetics) has unveiled the list of the 11 nominees for the coveted title of World Male Athlete of the Year. For the 2023 competition, the list covers all disciplines and the six continental confederations. The trophy awarded at the end of the year will be contested by Neeraj Chopra (India – javelin), Ryan Crouser (United States – shot put), Mondo Duplantis (Sweden – pole vault), Soufiane El Bakkali (Morocco – 3000 m steeplechase), Jakob Ingebrigtsen (Norway – 1500 m/mile/5000 m), Kelvin Kiptum (Kenya – marathon), Pierce LePage (Canada – decathlon), Noah Lyles (United States – 100 m/200 m), Alvaro Martin (Spain – race walk), Miltiadis Tentoglou (Greece – long jump), and Karsten Warholm (Norway – 400 m hurdles/400 m). The winner will be announced on social networks on 11 December, at the end of a three-stage voting process. The World Athletics Council will vote online, its votes counting for half of the final tally. The athletics family (officials, coaches, journalists, etc.) will also vote online, accounting for a quarter of the score. Finally, fans will be able to make their choice via World Athletics’ social media channels. Their votes will count for the final quarter of the final score. At the end of this process, five female and five male finalists will be announced by World Athletics on 13 and 14 November.